Muddy Buddy 2010

Time is at a Premium

Wow, hard to find time to write anything down these days. Life is flying by since football started. I’m coaching a 9-10 year old tackle football team and 5 nights a week practice is rough. I did find time to squeeze in a race and actually have Joggin for the Noggin coming up this weekend.

Completing My Goals

Way back in Feb I wrote about signing up for the Muddy Buddy (Officially called the Columbia Muddy Buddy, gotta love sponsorship!) and my experience with this in 2009. You can read about that here . Well the day finally came this past weekend to do it again.

Veteran of the Mud

I must say that 2nd time was much easier. I think partly because the course was easier but also knowing what to expect I was mentally prepared. Neither my buddy nor me did much training going into this race. We are both pretty active as it is anyway, but we did much better than previous and it was not nearly as hard (355 out of 2000). I was a bit sore on Monday and Tuesday from the biking portion but was really glad we were able to compete for a second time.

Last year all I could remember was how much every step hurt and the entire race seemed like a blur. This year I was totally in control of every aspect of the race, I was very aware of my pace and breathing and really soaked in each leg. It was nice to actually be passing other people in the run portion as well as the bike and having the stamina to go hard all the way to the end. Exercising and competing is like anything in life the more you do it, the easier it becomes. There is a big experience factor at play in most personal and professional situations that cannot be denied.

The Finish Line

The Finish Line

Leave a Reply

