Muddy Buddy Race Signup

Get in the Game
I just sent my info to my Muddy Buddy Glen McDevitt to sign us up for this race for 2010. If you are into running or biking or both and love to do fun events like no other. I urge you to check this out in a city near you. I did this for the first time last year and it was a blast.

Keith & Glen Muddy Buddy Aug 2009

We finished the race but the clothes were thrown in the trash!

How this Works
I hope you clicked on the link above and poked around to get an idea of what this is. I did this last year and had some idea but then arrived that morning and oh boy was it a surprise!

First off it started at 7AM on a Sunday morning. It was August in Chicago, but at 7AM it can be quite cold with just running shorts and shirt on. Now for anyone that runs you are used to wearing next to nothing and 10 minutes into the event you are sweating your rear off. This is kind of like that but there is a twist. It had rained the entire week prior to our race, so the course was mess. After the first 1/4 mile (i started on the bike) I hit a mud pit. Half the people flipped over there handlebars as the front tires sunk in the mud. It was insane and like nothing I have ever experienced. I got soaked at that moment and was never did quite hit that I’m warm now moment.

I was shocked by this and had to carry my bike about 300 feet to the first obstacle due to the mud in the tires.  The first obstacle was a old school climbing wall like you see in those military commercials. It  took me a bit but I finally got over the wall and started to run up a half plowed corn field with stalks tearing up my ankles. So the race went on and I won’t cover each leg but you get the idea.

In the end I was completely exhausted, had rocks in my shoes and who knows what else. I was totally full of mud, soaking wet, and completely pumped to do it again this year. I had run through an half plowed corn field, up and down hills I felt were mountains, through ponds and streams, and over mud filled roads. I had to balance on beams, climb walls, slide down inflatable slides with cold pools of water at the end, and climb under netting on my belly in a cow pasture.

It was competitive but the cool thing was that we all helped each other out throughout the race. I helped a person put his handlebars back on with stick and a rock. Someone else lost there brakes and simply carried the bike when it was their turn to ride. Guys helped each other find shoes in the bottom of the pond as it was stuck in the mud. It was a great experience and everyone was simply out to have a good time.

I found this very funny. There is actually an article on eHow as to how to do this. I suppose it makes sense, but I was a bit surprised. Good stuff in this article but I’ll add my own input to this here.

My Suggestions

  • Your bike will get trashed don’t bring you best one, or borrow a friends.
  • Your clothes and shoes will get trashed plan on throwing them away.
  • Bring towels you will probably bathe in public in a field with a hose afterwards.
  • Practice riding your bike and running up hills and on rough terrain prior to this race.
  • Mark your bike, we had a basket with a fox in the front, couldn’t miss it.
  • Most importantly have fun and dive in the mud pit at the end, you will have deserved it.
Pre race Fox in Socks!

Have something to mark your bike, we chose Fox in Socks!

Leave a Reply

